top of page

My Values

According to the text, one of Frederick Douglas's values is portrayed as the value of knowledge. This is because his actions and his language indicate how valuable and precious learning to read and write is to him. After reading this text and seeing Douglas's struggles and passion for learning I thought about some of my own values. I realized that I do think that education is very valuable and learning is inestimable. But I don’t believe education and the passion for learning are my top values, although I see them both as immeasurably important.

Otherwise, one of my greatest values that I always strive to uphold is empathy. In elementary school, we were always taught about the value of empathy as "the golden rule": treat others as you would like to be treated.I always try to see things from someone else’s perspective and with that, I try to understand their feelings and what they need and don’t need. This way, you imagine your the other person and you treat them how you would want to be treated in the same situation.

bottom of page