top of page

Thailand 2017

Friday, February 17th, 2017 was an exciting, yet incredibly stressful day. It was the morning before my flight to Bangkok, Thailand. That night, I was off to a country where me, a group of students from my grade, and four teachers would stay for about 7 days- completing a variety of service projects, shopping trips, touristy activities and friendship-bondings. It ended up being one of the best weeks of my life.

Now that I'm back home in Riyadh, when I think back about the trip it really does feel like a dream. And just about anyone I've talked to who came with would agree. It's the type of dream that you wake up from and try to fall asleep again to go back to. It was literally, So. Much. Fun.

It wasn't just that traveling with friends is fun. It was traveling with friends and even teachers, and sharing different and amazing experiences with.

Who would have ever thought they would one day end up building a house? Or dance with Thai villagers at a campfire? Or see THAT many 7-elevens everyday? I definitely never imagines any of that.

Going to Thailand, and thinking back about it now is just so weird. Because it was a week where we were trusted to be responsible and independent. We were given freedom and we had fun. We helped people and we felt grateful. We traveled together and we learned so much. We went to a completely new environment with the people we share our AIS-R/Riyadh enviornment with, and we all shared the amazing experience of traveling to a brand new country.


bottom of page