top of page

Writing to my future self... AND FUTURE ME WROTE BACK!

Hey me in 2061, it's currently 2016 and it seems like the fourty five year old me is a 100 years away but it's just 30 years. I bet you think your life passed by really fast. I imagine that 30 is still a long way to go but everyone goes through the same thing when aging, and they feel like they were only 15 yesterday. But I have some questions for you. And I hope that your answers will all be yes, but if they aren't, I hope these questions will motivate you to change those answers, no matter what it takes....

I hope you reached your goals long ago. I hope you're being the same "goal-making-fanatic" as your best friend calls you, and still making new goals, and working towards achieving them everyday. I hope she's still your best friend.

I wonder if you ever got to do the "double-profession" thing mama always talked about. Did you get to become a doctor like your parents dreamed and have enough dedication to do the other little things you dreamed? Do you still remember your favorite quotes from when you were a teenager?

"Dreams don't work unless you do,"

"Don't give up what you want most for what you want now,"

"STB"

I wonder if your passions are still the same. Or if you found new ones. But whatever they are, do you still do them? Do you still make time for them? Do you still make time for friends no matter how busy you are or, have your priorities changed? Do you still ride the dragster everytime you go to Cedar Point? Is it still your favorite place?

Do you still visit Pakistan? I hope you do. I hope you finally found the time and courage to visit home- to visit Kashmir, like we always tried to. I hope you get to see for yourself how beautiful it really is, without having to google pictures or only listen to stories of it from your grandparents and parents. I hope I still take care of my parents. Do I? Because I hope I keep my family, and especially my parents happy and proud and together. I hope I respect them and keep them happy and follow my religion and make Allah happy InshAllah.I hope I still put my faith in God in every situation.

I hope your attitude has changed. And I hope that it'd changed long ago. I hope you put productivity over perfection and never procrastinate.

I hope you do what's best for you and aren't confused of what that means anymore. I hope you don't dramatize anything and enjoy everything.

I hope you do what makes you happy. I really hope you're happy; and grateful, and strong, and dedicated, and persevere through everything. I hope I made my life the way I always wanted it.

Sincerely,

Sana T Butt (aka: STB: aka: Sana The Best)

-------------------------------------------------------

Dear 15 year old me, Dec.7.2061

When I think about the past, I only think about the good times. The happy times. I don't remember the bad times; they aren't apart of my life anymore so I don't want you to think twice about anything unfortunate in your life.

I'll tell you that I kept working and I kept going, and soon, after all the confusion and procrastination and the waiting for something perfect to happen ended, I started achieving. But the negatives didn't just end like that. I ended them myself. And it was hard- but it was definitely worth it.So I'll just tell you- I'll tell you what you want to hear: I'm happy today.

But I won't tell you where I live right now because that would ruin the adventure for you.

I won't tell you who has become apart of my family now because that would ruin the surprise for you.

And I won't tell you what I do everyday right now because I'm scared that if I tell you, you might give up on working hard. Because trust me, you can't be any better than where you are at in high school unless you work hard for it. I didn't give up on my dreams- never.

So I work for them everyday. I work to see my goals achieved and I work and it makes me happy. And it makes me feel grateful. I do what's best for me everyday. I know my priorities.

And yes, you're right. Time has gone by so fast for me. But that just makes me realise the importance of it. I never waste time. I get things done and I enjoy every moment.

I still visit Pakistan and my parents all the time. And I've been to Kashmir so many times and it was all possible because things are better there. You don't need courage to visit Kashmir anymore, all you need is a plane ticket and you've got K2 and Kashmiri Chai in your hands!

In terms of religion, I do my best, and I've come a long, long way. It helps me find peace everyday- five times a day- on time always....

You got to where you wanted to be. And I'll tell you that if you saw me now you'd think you made it. And you did.

But now, I have bigger dreams in mind that I will not tell you about yet. Dreaming, reaching high, and making goals and achieving them is a huge part of my life. Everyday. And you'll see just what I mean one day- 30 years from now, you'll see... I know what it was like when you felt like you were constantly failing and not going anywhere. But it's so much more different now, because you got yourself to this point. You did it.

Yet you'll still be the same person, and you'll keep dreaming like you always do.

But this time, your dreams will start being realities. You'll see. As long as you keep working. Because as we both know, "Dreams don't work unless you do".... yup, haven't forgotten it yet!

Sincerely,

Sana T Butt (aka: STB: aka: Sana The Best)

PS: Now go and actually be the best!


bottom of page